13 yo DD swing analysis

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 5, 2009
St. Louis MO
My 13 DD has been hitting left handed for 2 years. She recently switched from no stride to striding. She seems to be doing okay with it, but I wondered what some of you out there think. I hope I get the video up here okay. I've never tried it before.

Aug 1, 2008
ohio
Some things I see.
Try to keep load inside of back leg. Step out a couple of inches to a big toe, inside edge of foot with a bent knee, not flat footed.

Draw a chalk line on matt and step out straight. not step out open. This is working from the base up.

Maybe spead out her stance 2-4 inches. Will help her keep her load and swing between the legs

Good Luck
Straightleg

May 12, 2008
What he said and a lot more. First, what does her no stride swing look like?

Does look like she is able to turn the system on quickly and powerfully.

Nov 5, 2009
St. Louis MO
I don't have any video of her no stride swing, just got a Flip for Christmas. It looks to me like she's dropping her hands, but I can't tell if it's because the pitch is low. Here's another video of her hitting off the tee at a clinic she attended. She's 5' 1/2" and 93lbs, so she's not going to be a power hitter. She also slaps. Thanks for the feedback.

Last edited:
Aug 1, 2008
ohio
I always work on the base first before moving up and on.

Mark, Ssarge, Hitter, SbFamily, Ifubuildit, Chris Leary are a few of the guys on here that can help her swing.

Straightleg

May 12, 2008
I don't have any video of her no stride swing, just got a Flip for Christmas. It looks to me like she's dropping her hands, but I can't tell if it's because the pitch is low.

If she doesn't tilt, she has to drop her hands to hit the low pitch.

Here's another video of her hitting off the tee at a clinic she attended. She's 5' 1/2" and 93lbs, so she's not going to be a power hitter. She also slaps.