Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: LBR on walked batter

  1. #1
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,372
    Thanks
    2,846
    Thanked 2,541 Times in 1,632 Posts

    Default LBR on walked batter

    Runner on 3rd, batter is walked.

    LBR does not take effect until batter-runner touches 1st? Until then runner on 3rd can just hangout off the base?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac marriard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,839
    Thanks
    1,187
    Thanked 2,911 Times in 1,258 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quincy View Post
    Runner on 3rd, batter is walked.

    LBR does not take effect until batter-runner touches 1st? Until then runner on 3rd can just hangout off the base?
    Correct. LBR is only in effect after the batter-runner has touched 1st or has been declared out and the pitcher has possession of the ball in the pitching circle.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "60 feet, turn left"

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to marriard For This Useful Post:

    quincy (10-11-2018)

  4. #3
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    807
    Thanked 1,187 Times in 613 Posts

    Default

    With regards to LBR a walk is the same as a hit.

  5. #4
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,372
    Thanks
    2,846
    Thanked 2,541 Times in 1,632 Posts

    Default

    Not sure that is true for LBR.

    DD hits ball LBR is in effect immediately, I think walk is different.

  6. #5
    Certified softball maniac marriard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,839
    Thanks
    1,187
    Thanked 2,911 Times in 1,258 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quincy View Post
    Not sure that is true for LBR.

    DD hits ball LBR is in effect immediately, I think walk is different.
    Walk or hit doesn't matter. LBR is not in effect until the batter-runner is out or touches first. There is no specific mention of a walk in the rule. What I wrote in my last post is pretty much straight out of the USSSA rule book.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "60 feet, turn left"

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to marriard For This Useful Post:

    coach james (10-12-2018), GunnerShotgun (10-11-2018)

  8. #6
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    807
    Thanked 1,187 Times in 613 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quincy View Post
    Not sure that is true for LBR.

    DD hits ball LBR is in effect immediately, I think walk is different.
    I am pretty sure.

    It's an easy way to keep it straight in your head. If an umpire tries to tell you different it's time to protest.

  9. #7
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,121
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,571 Times in 930 Posts

    Default

    "The lookback rule shall be in effect for all runners when the ball is live, the batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out, and the pitcher has possession (and control, USA requirement) of the ball within the pitchers circle."

    There is no difference between a walk and a batted ball, the LBR does not go into effect until the batter/runner reaches 1st base.

  10. #8
    Certified softball maniac Westwind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,761
    Thanks
    2,294
    Thanked 950 Times in 548 Posts
    There are three things you can do in softball. You can win. You can lose. It can rain.

  11. #9
    Checking out the clubhouse jackfrost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    "The lookback rule shall be in effect for all runners when the ball is live, the batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out, and the pitcher has possession (and control, USA requirement) of the ball within the pitchers circle."

    There is no difference between a walk and a batted ball, the LBR does not go into effect until the batter/runner reaches 1st base.
    also no LBR on dropped third strike until batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --