At practice the other night, one of the other coaches tells me that at a recent tournament near Cedar Point, 2 of his batters get walked, head to first, round first and take a few steps toward second and then come straight back to first. Ump calls them both out. Ump says that on a walk, you must either go directly to first and stop or, once rounded, go directly to second. Pitcher has ball and in the circle.
I don't know what rule set so I can't say for sure if this is correct. Clarification, please.