Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58

Thread: rounding 1st on a walk

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day cvsoftball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Chautauqua County
    Posts
    409
    Thanks
    477
    Thanked 234 Times in 125 Posts

    Default rounding 1st on a walk

    At practice the other night, one of the other coaches tells me that at a recent tournament near Cedar Point, 2 of his batters get walked, head to first, round first and take a few steps toward second and then come straight back to first. Ump calls them both out. Ump says that on a walk, you must either go directly to first and stop or, once rounded, go directly to second. Pitcher has ball and in the circle.
    I don't know what rule set so I can't say for sure if this is correct. Clarification, please.
    the map isn't the territory

  2. #2
    Axe
    Axe is offline
    I can talk softball all day Axe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    434
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 156 Times in 96 Posts

    Default

    Ump is wrong. You can always round a bag, make a stop and return immediately.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Axe For This Useful Post:

    GunnerShotgun (08-29-2018), Sweet Lou (08-29-2018)

  4. #3
    I can talk softball all day Crabby_Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    Incorrect call for USA, Fed, and probably most others.

  5. #4
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    807
    Thanked 1,187 Times in 613 Posts

    Default

    A walk is the same as a hit when it comes to the LBR. Remember that and protest accordingly.

  6. #5
    Certified softball maniac canyonjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 1,025 Times in 597 Posts

    Default

    It shouldn't be called but it will be by a lot of umpires. You can protest, but unless you want to waste a protest on something that isn't really worth it I would just have them stop.

  7. #6
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    807
    Thanked 1,187 Times in 613 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by canyonjoe View Post
    It shouldn't be called but it will be by a lot of umpires. You can protest, but unless you want to waste a protest on something that isn't really worth it I would just have them stop.
    The only area coach actually has an impact on the game is to make sure the game is officiated correctly for their players. I would protest that every time.

  8. #7
    Certified softball maniac canyonjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 1,025 Times in 597 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GunnerShotgun View Post
    The only area coach actually has an impact on the game is to make sure the game is officiated correctly for their players. I would protest that every time.
    If it were a HS game or a bracket game I might, but 1st game of a tournament when I'll likely have the guys 5 more times I'm not going to protest many calls. I'd certainly argue it but to file a formal protest and stop the game and wait just isn't worth it to me.

  9. #8
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,121
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,571 Times in 930 Posts

    Default

    If you are going to have the guy 4 or 5 more times over the weekend, that is the exact time to protest it. Otherwise you either have to live with the out call in every game or you have to instruct your runners to not legally run the bases and make them stop on first base every time you have that umpire.

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    KCPhoto (08-31-2018), Ken B (10-13-2018)

  11. #9
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,372
    Thanks
    2,846
    Thanked 2,541 Times in 1,632 Posts

    Default

    Other thing is inform TD after game and not make a big deal of it, sort of protest to just clear up the rules.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to quincy For This Useful Post:

    MNDad (08-29-2018)

  13. #10
    Softball Junkie dbronstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    508
    Thanks
    656
    Thanked 216 Times in 120 Posts

    Default

    Did this used to be a rule? I've always heard this, so I'm curious how the misconception got started.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --