Correct. LBR is only in effect after the batter-runner has touched 1st or has been declared out and the pitcher has possession of the ball in the pitching circle.Runner on 3rd, batter is walked.
LBR does not take effect until batter-runner touches 1st? Until then runner on 3rd can just hangout off the base?
Walk or hit doesn't matter. LBR is not in effect until the batter-runner is out or touches first. There is no specific mention of a walk in the rule. What I wrote in my last post is pretty much straight out of the USSSA rule book.Not sure that is true for LBR.
DD hits ball LBR is in effect immediately, I think walk is different.
also no LBR on dropped third strike until batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out"The lookback rule shall be in effect for all runners when the ball is live, the batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out, and the pitcher has possession (and control, USA requirement) of the ball within the pitchers circle."
There is no difference between a walk and a batted ball, the LBR does not go into effect until the batter/runner reaches 1st base.