I/R, I just dont get it

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Sep 11, 2014
Pa
So, I have been trying to read and understand all the IR posts here. I just don't get it. No one in my area that I know of is teaching it. I guess my main problem when I read through all the stuff is I don't have medical degree so I get lost with a lot of the terms. I am a diesel mechanic...lol Anyway, I just cant seem to read, understand, and know how to teach my daughter and other pitchers how to use IR.

Here is what I have been working on with them all, after combining what I have been taught from some other coaches in the area and reading on here that I was able to pick up.

Powerful drive of rubber, I try to get them to stride out as far as they are tall, lightly dragging pivot foot. Try to not get them digging trenches, but just enough where you can tell they are dragging.
front foot at about 45* when it lands, not pointing towards 3rd
big, loose arm circle with ball facing up at top of circle
elbow gets pulled down into their side, forcing forearm to whip around at bottom of circle
tight circle throughout
finish tall and balanced (my DD needs to work on this, she still bends at the waist a little)

My DD has been doing pretty well, she is 10 and according to our little cheapo Skillz radar hits 43-45 mph pretty consistently in the back yard. Never used a real radar in a game. She is pretty consistent with strikes also. She is moving up to 12u TB (played and pitched 12u rec this past season) at the end of the TB season and I just want to make sure I am not holding her back. One of the pitching coaches in the area uses a "Just throw strikes approach" where he uses their natural arm motion and just teaches from there. Doesn't really teach IR or HE.

Jun 19, 2013