Coaching during the game

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 26, 2010
I'm in my first year coaching a rec ball team and I'd like to get the thoughts of the folks on the forum. I have a couple dads helping me and they love to shout instruction to the girls while they are in the field. My favorite is with the pitcher, such as, bring the ball down or up and throw strikes. Then when the ball is put into play they start screaming where to throw the ball, each is usually to a different place.

I am more of a believer in letting the girls play and if something needs addressing do it in the dugout. If I yell anything it's more of, when the ball comes to you know what you're going to do.

What should we as coaches be doing when girls are in the field during a game? Thank you

Apr 6, 2012
What age level? Personally, I don't like to have a lot of coaches yelling instructions during a game, especially if coaches are saying different instructions at the same time. I would rather give reminders before the play at the younger ages, and also just give key words as reminders to the older groups. At some point, the girls have to learn to think for themselves. However, you need to make sure you go over situations in practice and that you use things that happen in games as learning experiences. Review at the end of the inning ( example: What should we do next time this happens?) I think sometimes coaches "over coach" during games by telling the kids everything.

Jun 26, 2010
"Teach the field generals to call out simple and them more complex plays as time goes on and save the coaches voices."

What do you mean by field generals? I've got an idea but want to be sure.

Nov 17, 2010
A coach should be assigned to an area, like the outfield, for example.