Back and side view of my 10yr old

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 13, 2010
Well I am far from an expert but you asked cor opinion. I Believe she is releasing too far behind her hip. I teach releasing in front of the hip. I think she is a little out of sync as far as her arm/hand in relation to her body. I think if her arm came down a little sooner it would be better. But again maybe I don't know what I am talking about.

May 9, 2014
Umatilla, Florida
I think she looks very good, looks like she's put lots of work into her mechanics. I would say keep doing what your doing. keep working on that drive forward off the rubber, and leading with the elbow.

Feb 3, 2010
Pac NW
Wow--Nice work! I think Coach Pauly will be impressed!

Hard to tell from these videos, but I think I'm still seeing a forced action through release. A better video would help to see (add as much light as you can get and borrow an iPhone 6.)

Last edited:
Jan 31, 2014
North Carolina
I agree with Ken B. She's turning her hand early and forcing the ball through. If she can bring her elbow just inside the hip before releasing the elbow, and allow the hand to whip underneath, she should increase speed. Does she tend to have trouble throwing outside to righties? Also, she looks a little upright as she initially comes out of her drive.

Still, 10 years old? Very nice.

Feb 3, 2010
Pac NW
I agree with Ken B. She's turning her hand early and forcing the ball through. If she can bring her elbow just inside the hip before releasing the elbow, and allow the hand to whip underneath, she should increase speed. Does she tend to have trouble throwing outside to righties? Also, she looks a little upright as she initially comes out of her drive.

Still, 10 years old? Very nice.

I think "behind the hip" might be a better description.

fx73ae.gif
ch2_zpsdihwrotu.gif

Last edited:
Mar 21, 2013