Am I the only one??

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Sep 11, 2015
I have a 12 year old that loves softball and soccer. Well....all sports, really. She plays volleyball and basketball as an afterschool sport. Softball and soccer are her "main" sports and she plays comp for both and, as a coach, I encourage my players to play multiple sports or be involved in multiple activities (not necessarily at the same time but throughout the year). I've coached softball for many years. When I was in playing in college, I coached during the summer. I coached 2 years of college and I have coached since my daughters decided to play. I know the game well. I also come from a very different perspective than what is happening in the softball world. I do believe that, especially wtih 12U and below, seasons should end no later than the beginning of July to mid-July so that families can go on vacations and spend time together OUTSIDE of softball before their next sport or school starts. I grew up with the idea that our "vacations" were where we played softball and maybe a day or two after and that is not what I would like for my daughters to believe. Nowadays, I'm concerned that softball seasons are as long....if not longer....than MLB seasons (January - October/November).

Unfortunately, I cannot keep players on my team because my season is not "long enough" even though we go at least 6 months. Parents and players feel they have to go year round so they don't "get behind" and because I am not that....they leave. As a result, I end up getting players that are cut from all other teams. Don't get me wrong....I love coaching and teaching and absolutely love developing all athletes but I also need to think about my daughter and where she is going.