Throwdown?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 5, 2013
This is my first year catching for my high school team and I get a lot of hassle from my teammates (who all have never caught a day in their life) saying that I shouldn't let the ball bounce to the short stop then my coach on the team says to let the ball bounce to keep it low. So my question is to bounce the ball or to not bounce the ball when throwing down to 2nd base ?

Nov 29, 2009
If you can make a firm, solid throw to 2nd then do it. If not then tell your SS to improve her fielding skills. A short-hop bounce on throw down to 2nd is acceptable if it is consistent and it's where a fielder should be able to handle it. Ask your coach to work on it at the next practice. It sounds like your SS is being lazy.

I would bet the SS is a senior and you're an underclassman. The good news. The season is nearly over.

May 5, 2013
Yepp you got it right (I'm a junior) she doesn't get them half the time but our other short stop (rarely positions there, our best pitcher) never complains and always gives a good target. Thank you !

Your target should be the throwing the ball right at second base, ideally below the waist on the first base side.

You coach is just acknowledging that you can't make a perfect throw every time and that given the options of airmailing the ball to center field or a one hop to second he will take the one hop on a straight line every time.

You should be working on making a good solid waist high or below throw every time you should NOT be bouncing the ball to second on purpose.

Apr 14, 2013
Long Island
Am I the only one impressed that teen players are signing up and participating on this forum and becoming students of the game? Very refreshing!

RJY

Mar 13, 2010