take a Break before tournament?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 7, 2016
Hey guys, Ive got a 9u pitcher (my dd) who I throw with every day. She is pretty good, and at this age, if she is throwing we have a very good shot at winning games. This is our first year of tournament ball, and we are still figuring everything out. In the last tournament, we did well till she got tired, we got stuck with back to back to back games... My question is, in order to give her the best shot at lasting longer on Saturdays, should I lay off the practice pitching the day before? I was thinking maybe just let her throw 10-20 just to keep the feel fresh, but got to thinking about just letting that arm and those muscles have a full break. What do you recommend? Thanks for the help!

Jun 12, 2015
I'm still learning myself, also have a 9 year old pitcher. Personally we don't let her practice every day. We do 3 to 4 days a week so with a tournament she gets 2 to 3 days off. I've read a lot about the increase in repetitive stress injuries in children due to too much specialization too young. Nothing we can do about that, we all love softball. But I try to mitigate the risk with rest days. We will either take the day before a tournament off or have a very light practice. Depending on how much she pitches we often take the day after off too.

May 17, 2012
I wouldn't pitch at least two days before a tournament and one day before a school game (games vs. game). Even if you are just throwing a limited number of pitches you still have to warm up.

Pitching lessons are like filling a large bucket with sand a handful at a time. You want to fill the bucket eventually but a handful either way isn't going to make much of a difference. It's a marathon not a sprint.

Feb 17, 2014
She can't pitch every day. She's going to get hurt eventually.