Stats? How to address it when Coach makes a mistake.

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 2, 2010
I'm a newbie, and normally try to stay off message boards, but I could really use some advice.

My daugther, after a shoulder injury in the fall, has struggled at the plate this spring. She used to hit in the 500 range and see tons of at-bats. Now...well let's say she's had less than half the at-bats that she used to and can't seem to get on base. She's putting the ball in play 3/4 of the time, but it's going where the players can make a play. Shes' been working really hard and has started to improve, but she has to dig her way out of a hole when it comes to her average.

Well, her coach is very very thorough and organized. He reports all the stats to the parents. This past tournament he didn't give her credit for a 2RBI triple. With as few at-bats as she's seeing and as low as her average is, it would make a big difference. I mentioned it to him, but I don't think he believes us. And yes, it was a valid triple stroked into the outfiled and not due to errors.

I don't want to be considered a difficult parent. As far as playing time and game strategy decisions, I keep my mouth shut. But this is a big deal to a kid who's trying to get it back together.

Any ideas on how to handle it gracefully?

Mar 15, 2010
Does he keep his own stats while on the field or does he rely on the stats kept by your scorekeeper? If the latter check with the scorekeeper to figure out why she was not given credit for the RBI triple.

Apr 2, 2010
Does he keep his own stats while on the field or does he rely on the stats kept by your scorekeeper? If the latter check with the scorekeeper to figure out why she was not given credit for the RBI triple.