So apparently I’m a pitching coach

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 30, 2018
DD’s Rec team started practicing this week. Coach is awesome guy. Obviously really cares. Come with a plan and does a great job, but has more kids than any one person can handle. DD is only player with pitching experience. After watching a hello elbow pushing demo recruiting pitchers I volunteered to help with pitchers if he wanted. I may not know a lot. But I have learned tons compared to when we started and didn’t want to see any girls go down that path.

Tonight he took me up on it. Sweet 12yr old with a great attitude. Not uncommon to see basically horseshoe mechanics at our rec level and I thought at the Very least I could teach them to throw underhand with some basic IR mechanics and give them a head start if they decided to stick with it. After explaining and demoing a few things got her trying to just get the ball palm up and whip. After correcting a couple throws that were pushy she started to feel what I was saying and correcting herself. Awesome body awareness. Started having her doing it with a step and she still was doing it really well a good percentage of the time. Had zero intention of attempting an actual pitch, but she was game and I tried to give her a good feeling of what her arm was supposed to be doing to get to where she started with that whip. Now I realize that there tons of drive mechanics and glove arm stuff to work on. But in 20 minutes, to get a kid who is actually in her first year playing, to pitching a ball that would have crossed the plate in the strike zone felt pretty awesome. I told her she should be so proud of herself.

DD asked me going home how girl did. I told her I’m a much better coach now than when she started apparently. Sorry for the ramble just pretty stoked to have a small impact on somebody and do something positive for the game.

Jun 8, 2016