Opinions

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 6, 2008
I am an assistant coach for a travel team. The girls have been together for 7 years and are now mostly senirs. During our summer season our #1 pitcher decided she did not want to play summer ball at all this year and we were notified two days before our first game. We only carry 11 players so this left us in a difficult spot. Besides other girld on the team had oportunities to play on club teams but chose to play on our team instead, so we had to scramble to get the team back to full strength. Now that fall ball has arrived I recommended to the head coach that we send a message to the player who left us short by not starting her as our number 1 pitcher as the girls that gave up their summer had some hard feeling about her comming back as if nothing happened. I told the head coach that by sending the message he would be showing the rest of the team that he appreciates the sacrifice and he has their backs... any thoughts on this

Aug 16, 2010
I've always thought the best way to send a message is to send the message. Communication is the key. Why not have a meeting with the girl and parents and explain the hard feelings and how she needs to re-earn the trust and respect of the team - which may include moving to no. 2 role for a while. You may consider urging her to talk with the girls - they usually work things out pretty well if we get out of the way.

Jul 9, 2010