Nothings ever good enough approach...

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 9, 2011
West Barstow, Ca
In a rec league game which was a battle between two undefeated teams my 10yo daughter threw a complete game no-hitter.Here are her stats - 6 IP, 0 HITS, 18 K'S, 4 BB, 0 RUNS. I did expect for her to do very well but this was her best performance by far.She is a gamer.Anyway, after the game her grandpa's(my father) first question was why did she walk so many batters? He then told her that it seems she gets a lead and loses her focus. Than he told her you did alright, gave her a hug, and left. I was raised this way and am not sure it is the best way but I love my popps. As a youth coach I love to tell kids how good they do...sometimes over looking something small thats wrong. Ive coached with other coaches who are never happy and always nit picking at players. With this age group, my approach to coaching is as positive as it can be while still being informative.I have been told by many that the "nothings ever good enough" approach is much needed and that it is what drives top athletes to get better. Any opinions?

MTR

Jun 22, 2008