Need help convincing league to use "Coach Rescue"

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 5, 2012
Ontario, Canada
This is my first year as AC for a rec level team of U10 boys fastpitch in Ontario, Canada. It is a rural league with 8 different centers participating. We have kept the focus on skill development and worked hard with the kids. They are all 8YO with no prior experience and they have improved greatly in all areas except one...pitching. It seems that this is a common problem because a typical game has an average of 5-7 walks per half inning (on both sides). It is not uncommon for a team to reach the 6 run limit without having a hit :eek: There are a couple stronger teams with one consistent pitcher but that is the exception.
Anyway, I would really like to see the league go to Coach Rescue to keep the games moving and the batters/fielders in the game. Has anybody out there been through this process with a league. I'm hoping to be able to provide some good examples for how it has been applied in other places and justifications for the change. It is not a common practice in these parts.

They have some other odd rules that I believe hinder the game.
1. Runners may only advance one base per pitch unless the ball is in play by a hit
2. Runners may only advance home on a force or hit (ie. no stealing, WP, PB). The runner cannot even advance if the catcher throws the ball away attempting a CS or pickoff. This leads to endless throws around the bases (no penalty to defense for missing). Is this type of rule common? Somebody must have thought it was a good idea but to me it is just keeping the kids from playing the actual game. Some nights 1.5 hours barely gets them through 3 innings.
Thanks

May 18, 2009