My first new set of catchers equipment and bat recommndation

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

softgabby

Gear Empress
Mar 10, 2016
Just behind home plate
I'm going to be going to our local Dick's and Dunham's sporting goods stores with my dad and brother to shop for a new bat and my first set of catchers gear. But I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I'm thinking brand wise of getting either Easton, Under Armour, Louisville Slugger or Worth. What should I be looking for in a first set of catchers gear and out of those brands what has your experience been?

Also with a bat. I've been using a TPX youth softball bat since I started playing and its served me well. Its I think 25 or 26 inch and about 16 inches but the writing has since worn off of the bat. I'm looking at Easton, Louisville Slugger, Mizuno or Worth in brands. But with my small stature (4'10") I'm not sure what brand or size to go with. what do you recommend?

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
There is poster here, coresoftball20, who will give you a good deal on a bat.

I think your math is off on your current bat. You should be in the 30 - 32 inch range, drop 10.

Apr 26, 2015
My daughter has a mix and match catchers set. One brand did not fit her right for all pieces. She has an All-Star helmet, Mizuno shins and Schutt chest. She is only 12 - 4'11" and 73 lbs. we tried on alot of pieces before she found what was most comfortable for her. She has been swinging a 30" 20 oz Louisville Slugger LXT for a year now. She needs to move up to a 31/21 but bats are pricey ... We're about ready to bite the bullet on a new LS LXT.

Good luck - new gear is always exciting!

softgabby

Gear Empress
Mar 10, 2016
Just behind home plate