First attempt at the push back drill

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 18, 2013
MN
DD and I spent some quality time viewing Java's video drill and took our first crack at performing it - main focus for her was footwork first, then understanding overlap and implementing it and finally the striking quick push. We didn't spend much time on what the stride leg does yet or any arms as she didn't even have a ball in hand. Any critiques are welcome. I know there is definitely room for improvement.[video]https://www.coachseye.com/v/aMQK[/video]

kind of got it to work from what I saw from the beginning never did get it to work all the way through, but from what I saw her form looks pretty good for her leap and motion, but I thought I saw her stepping back off the rubber? and I saw a crow hop? those are 2 very big issues that need to be corrected especially the crow hop. again im no expert.

Last edited:
Mar 18, 2013
MN
kind of got it to work from what I saw from the beginning never did get it to work all the way through, but from what I saw her form looks pretty good for her leap and motion, but I thought I saw her stepping back off the rubber? and I saw a crow hop? those are 2 very big issues that need to be corrected especially the crow hop. again im no expert.
Yes she is supposed to take a big step off the rubber. It is part of the drill. For those that know this drill I'm looking for feedback on footwork and overlap specifically.

Jun 18, 2012
Utah
As far as the push-back drill part is concerned... I really like how forward-leaning she gets as she pushes off of the plate, along with getting the hips moving forward before the end of the baskswing. Also, I like how her right foot pulls away from the plate her throwing arm goes through 3:00 out front. I'm sure Java will comment on the push-back drill aspects of this clip once he can view the clip.