dead ball/ground rule double?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 30, 2013
Binghamton, NY
So, between 10U games this weekend, I watched a 14U game.

With a runner on 1B, a batter hit a BOMB for an HR.
Probably the farthest shot Ive personally ever seen live in a softball game.
(admittedly, I'm a bit of a rookie...)

Anyway, here's the point of contention:

Scenario: The 1B runner had scored and the batter was a few steps away from 3B by the time an OF got to the ball.
There was no OF fence, and the ball carried into an area between fields, where another team was warming-up.
Ball came to a stop *near* some of the other team's practice balls that were lying in a loose grouping in the grass.
Game ball never actually made contact with anything other than blades of grass, and path/stopping place of game ball did not ever impede the OF player's ability to field it.

Result: The Fielding Team Coach went *ballistic*, calling for a dead-ball/ground rule double, saying "how do we know my fielder picked-up and fielded the actual game ball?!!" The umpire(s) did not grant the dead ball ruling and allowed the play to stand. I didn't catch their reasoning because they weren't shouting at the top of their lungs like the fielding Team's Coach.

Question is: was this the correct ruling? I'm no expert, but I would say that it becomes a judgment call: was the path of ball altered/obstructed in any way that prevented the OF from fielding it? (no) and if perchance the ball did get mixed-in with the other teams practice balls, would the fielding team otherwise been able to make reasonable play on the batter? (no).

Curious what more experienced folks might say about this.
I can see this happening again, in a tournament setting.

Last edited:
Jun 24, 2013
If the ball rolls out of play I read 8I as a two base award (ground rule double). (ASA)