Advice for new rec coach

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 8, 2012
Hello all. I apologize if this has been asked and answered a hundred times, and I promise I’ve perused the site and used the search function but I’m still struggling with how to go about providing instruction to my team.

To give some background, I’m a coach for my daughter’s rec-league (machine pitch)team of 8 year-old girls. I am relatively new to coaching and most of the girls are pretty new to the game. The league had a training video for us new coaches but after browsing around here it sounds like a lot of what was taught was probably bad advice, such as “squish the bug”. I just don’t want to be one of those rec coaches who I hear some of you complain about that give bad advice and then require you to de-program your kids!

I’ve read a lot on how to organize a practice to keep the kids engaged such as using stations, incorporating little games, and just keep it moving along and fun and I definitely plan on following this advice. However, I’m having a hard time trying to figure out how to explain some of the more technical parts of the game, especially the proper swing, to kids this young and inexperienced. I’ve read a lot on swing techniques and watched lots of videos and I think I’m getting a pretty good grasp on it. But I’m having trouble translating those techniques in an easy to understand way. What is the best way to show young kids proper technique without overloading them and frustrating them with too much information?

Greenmonsters

Wannabe Duck Boat Owner
Feb 21, 2009
New England
Hello all. I apologize if this has been asked and answered a hundred times, and I promise I’ve perused the site and used the search function but I’m still struggling with how to go about providing instruction to my team.