Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Controversy in Georgia baseball game over bases-loaded walk

  1. #1
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball CoogansBluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    5,093
    Thanks
    1,676
    Thanked 2,896 Times in 1,568 Posts

    Default Controversy in Georgia baseball game over bases-loaded walk

    Curious if anyone knows the national federation rule on this.

    High school state semifinal game in Georgia yesterday, tied 3-3, bottom of the 7th. Bases-loaded walk. Runner at second never touches 3B. ''Winning'' run is nullified, game continues. Penalized team loses in extras, now appealing to state association.

    What's the rule on this?

  2. #2
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,513
    Thanks
    2,387
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 1,351 Posts

    Default

    I think batter-runner just needs to touch 1st.

  3. #3
    It wasn't me. rdbass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Not here.
    Posts
    7,651
    Thanks
    2,214
    Thanked 4,828 Times in 2,888 Posts

    Default

    Would it matter how many outs there was. 2 outs.....
    I don't know sh!t from shinola!

  4. #4
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,674
    Thanks
    724
    Thanked 1,016 Times in 529 Posts

    Default

    Probably depends on the timing of it all. I would think as long as batter/runner touched first and 3B/runner touched home (assuming 2B/runner didn't sprint off the field first) the run would score.
    Last edited by GunnerShotgun; 05-18-2017 at 06:01 PM.

  5. #5
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,513
    Thanks
    2,387
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 1,351 Posts

    Default

    My bad, I assumed runner on 3rd touched home.

    Never know I guess.

    (Bigger assumption is that they are looking at written statements, no video even if it exists)
    Last edited by quincy; 05-18-2017 at 04:30 PM.

  6. #6
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    Gut feeling- this isn't a force out and would require an appeal. Like the missed base on that home run, does the batter have to vacate the field to be out for not touching 3rd? I would assume the runner scored before that happened.

    The appeal would have to come after the run scored, so I'd guess the run counts.

    Every time reread my post I second guess thoughts. Hmmmm waiting for an expert to answer.

  7. #7
    Certified softball maniac corlay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    580
    Thanked 807 Times in 419 Posts

    Default

    yeah, I'm guessing that as long as HP was touched by 3B Runner *before* 2B Runner vacated the field, the run counts.

  8. #8
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball CoogansBluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    5,093
    Thanks
    1,676
    Thanked 2,896 Times in 1,568 Posts

    Default

    There were 2 outs. Video evidence can't be used in high school appeals, from what I'm told.

    Appeal hearing is Friday. I'll report results.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to CoogansBluff For This Useful Post:

    quincy (05-18-2017)

  10. #9
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,513
    Thanks
    2,387
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 1,351 Posts

    Default

    Externally hard to over turn it after the fact, interested how it turns out.

  11. #10
    Softball Junkie BretMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    960
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 290 Times in 190 Posts

    Default

    For high school baseball, played under NFHS rules, they consider these to be awarded bases that all must be touched. If appealed, it's an out and in this case it's a force out. Since there were two outs, that nullifies any run scoring.

    This ruling would be different for OBR/MLB rules. There, only the batter-runner needs to touch first and the runner from third touch home.
    Last edited by BretMan; 05-18-2017 at 07:54 PM.
    Click to Visit The Glove Shop On-Line Baseball & Softball Glove Repair

  12. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BretMan For This Useful Post:

    CoogansBluff (05-18-2017), JAD (05-20-2017), MT 73 (05-18-2017)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --