Stay in 12U or move up to 14U?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 6, 2012
This is my first time posting, but I've found tons of useful information on this site. Here is the situation we find ourselves in...

My dd is 12 and doesn't turn 13 until July. This is her 3rd year pitching and in the area we play in, I would consider her to be in the top half of pitchers we've seen, but no where near the "elite" level. Reading posts on the site, I can see that other areas of the country are far more advanced than ours, where at the 12u level we've seen only a handful of pitchers that have a change-up.

On my daughter's travel team the coach's daughter is our other pitcher. They typically alternate pitching games and while the other pitcher has more velocity, my dd has better control. This year her travel team is moving up to 14u because this other pitcher is 13. There has been some discussion (behind our back) that our dd should pitch for our school's 12U team and allow the coach's daughter to be the 14U pitcher. Both girls are in 7th grade and will be competing for the high school team next spring.

That being said - is it better to move up and face the better, stronger competition or pitch every game and be competitive at the 12U level? My dd is working with a pitching coach and she said she would be ready for 14U competition, but I know the team overall will struggle at that level.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Lynne

Aug 29, 2011
NorCal
From what you describe I'd say your DD would be better off in U12 betting more innings. Only if she is elite in U12 would I move her up.

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
If you think your DD will be in the upper 30 to 40% of the league pitchers and will get circle time move her up.

(Few parents of DD’s old Team, in a nice way, are happy to be seeing the back of DD. Parents of player she is moving up with is not to happy. Oh well)

Last edited:
Oct 19, 2009
beyond the fences