Opinions on moving up....

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 16, 2014
I apologize in advance if this is long winded but I need some opinions here.* A few months ago I posted about being frustrated with my dd's travel team of which I am an assistant coach.* I felt they were not practicing enough or taking things serious.* I was told to wait it out and what I was going through is normal.* Well everyone was correct...we are improving greatly,* I enjoy coaching much more, and things are just coming together quite nicely. Here is where I need opinions, * the HC wants the girls to stay together for years to come.* We are a 12 u with half girls needing to move to 14 and half can stay.* He wants to move all up regardless of age, well my dd is only 11 b day in September.* As a parent the prospect of my then 12yo playing against 14 and 15 yo girls is a bit scary .** As a coach I know this is probably the best way to develop an individual and keeping the team together is best for the team.* I was told by the HC we would stay in a C class only.*I was approached privately by the HC and the president of the organization and asked if I would consider this.* They told me they think she's ready and would like her to stay with the organization as long as possible.* I feel her skill level and drive is high enough to compete at this level but i am not sure about the mental maturity gap of a 12 to 14/15yo.* She plays first base and pitches...she is unbelievable at 1st not worried there....pitching worries me she has made tremendous improvements and works hard but still has many flaws that older girls may have had more years to work on. She has only been pitching for a little under two years....and I don't want to take any fun out of it at such a young age. I have asked her what she thinks and she says she wants to move up and stay with the team. She even told me "I will show u I'm ready". What do u folks think?