Need help with mechanical issues

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Crab

Crab
Jan 21, 2013
Rocky mount nc
I am a newcomer to this forum. I am a baseball coach who happens to have 2 daughter that play softball and both want to pitch(9 and 12). The 12 yr old has been taking lessons for 8 months. The 9 yr has had 3 lessons total. I don't claim to understand the motion but have paid attention and studied the motion by reading and videos . The 12 ur is a decent athlete(5"6' 115 pounds). She throws overhand 54 to 56 mph but underhand she is 48 to 50. She gets 1 lesson per week and practices with me the remainder of the week. These are the issues that I see through video analysis and need help on correcting. 1 she has developed a nice size crow hop. 2 she leans forward throughout her motion. 3 does not appear to me that she throws against a firm or braced stride leg and in fact her forward moment carries he an extra step. 4 at release she is square to the catcher(which I think strains the shoulder) instead of being more closed.5 there is very little wrist or elbow snap. It is like she is bowling. 6 she has a very long stride. Is longer than her height which seems to me to almost make her become off balance or out of control. I just think her mechanics are so poor that they are robbing her of potential accuracy and velocity. I spend a lot of time working with her but want to be able to help her when she is away from her teacher. Her teacher seems to be pretty good but I don't know if she notices these things. I don't see them unless I look at frame by frame video. Please offer advice and drills to correct these problems. Thanks

Mar 25, 2011