How did your DD(or you) get involved in Softball?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
DD’s friend talked her into playing softball so they could spend time together. The friend who talked her into it quit the Team before the actual games started. She was uncomfortable with softball, it was not for her.

DD is still going strong. :)

coachtucc

Banned
May 7, 2008
A, A
Well I am coach...no daughter but a son...was subbing at Sayville HS in NY and wanted to volunteer for the baseball team! Softball varsity Head Coach said no, I need you to help me with the softball team!! I said that I know nothing about softball...she said can you run OF drills and teach them to crowhop and hit the cutoff person? I said yes...she said the rest I'll teach you so here i am now 9 years later and I am a travel team head coach!!

Mar 13, 2010
My family has been in the sport since the 60s, and my mum was a state pitcher. I was at the softball field as a newborn! Hanging off the back of the net at 2 begging to play in my mum's team. Was put into a t-ball team at age 3, finished the game and asked when we were going to the pub! (tradition after games for my club)

Didn't start pitching until I was 18. Dabbled with it as a little girl but got the 'you'll be as good as your mum' and dropped the ball. Playing for a different club and our pitcher was out injured and one of the girls I'd gone to primary school with said I'd pitched as a kid, so I was put in. Struck out the first three batters, walked off only to see my mum with her head in her hands going 'Why didn't you do this as a kid? You'd have gone state!'

Jun 22, 2008