14u only calling fastballs

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 7, 2012
PA
I have been working with a pitcher(family friend) for a few months since July. I coach 16u and she is playing 14u for the same organization. She throws a fast, change, drop and screw. The screw is a work in progress and only hits about 65% of the time in practice so far. Her drop is her bast pitch followed by her change up.

2 weekends ago, 2 of my 3 pitchers came down with a stomach bug. I couldn't find a replacement pitcher last minute (everyone I asked was unavailable) so she came and guested for us. She actually did pretty decent, she threw a lot of drops and changes for ground balls and weak pop outs, kept them off balance. They did have some decent hits of her but only score 5 runs (when they scored 10 & 13 in their first 2 games if the day). I discussed with the coach how well she threw and he seemed impressed.

This past weekend her 14u team was in a tournament. First inning comes and she is spot on, her screw was hitting. She got through the first inning on 7 pitches, 2 ground outs and a fly ball to SS, the coach pulls her aside after the inning. Next inning comes and I realize she is throwing a lot of fast balls.

After the game I ask her why she threw so many fastballs. She siad her coach said alls he wants is a fastball and she got in trouble for throwing her other pitches. She had the other team so off balance when she was mixing pitches, why all fastballs.

Has anyone else ever encountered an issue like this.

Jul 26, 2010
Yeah, it occurs a great deal. It can start with a bug bite or a snake bite, but generally it is attributed to a genetic disorder or childhood malnourishment. There have been cases of this reported after suffering severe head trauma.

Computer geeks would say this person is classified as an ID ten T.

I like Wikipedia's explanation of this behavior: