What makes a great coach?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Huskerdu

With Purpose and Urgency
Sep 4, 2011
I have been thinking about this for the past few days. Not that it matters, but for context, I have an MBA in Strategic Management, I am an executive director in real life with close to 60 employees, 90% of which are women, nurses and such. I was a college baseball player, and have been coaching, umpiring, refereeing, baseball and softball for the past 15 years. I took a bunch of rec girls and turned them into the best 12u team in our org last year.

So now managing a team of 11-14Us would seem to be relatively easy right? I have a pit in my gut right now because I was able to combine the two of the best 12u teams in our organization and I thought I was going to have an elite team and it hasn't materialized. I am now questioning what makes a great coach and I am concerned now how many of these kids are going to want to return next year.

I have put my heart and soul and pocketbook, and even in some cases my dignity (fundraising) into these kids...

As you know success breeds content and losing/disappointing Sundays breeds contempt.

So, even though I have read several articles and videos and sessions on the mechanics of coaching I ask, what makes a great softball coach in your grassroots opinion?

Thanks,
Coach

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
First, I want to say it takes an adult to ask for help...and I certainly want to give you credit. Most people don't have the guts to ask for it.

Second, I'm going to answer your actual question: "Why did I fail?"

1) High level TB is about talent, not coaching. Sure, coaching is important, but no where near as important as the talent. The truth (which parents wish to avoid at all costs) is that truly talented athletes are created by God. Coaches and parents hone already existing raw talent.