The worst Place to Coach?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 13, 2010
I was Talking with a Travel ball coach yesterday and when he realized I was a JV coach He said he felt for me. He said Travel and LL were easier to Coach than JV.

He was a JV coach for a while and said it was the worst Place to coach. In Travel and LL there is no HC to deal with and lots less politics. I have done LL but not Travel.
But I dont Know You think its the Worst?

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
The most fun to coach is rec ball. If you have the right attitude, you will laugh a lot and have a great time with the kids.

Coaching 18U TB is probably the closest you can get to playing softball. The pitching is great, the kids know what they are doing, they understand the game...but, of course, the players are 17 and 18 YOA teenagers. So, between games, you are looking around saying, "What have I got myself into?"

For me, 14U TB was the worst. The parents think their DDs are destined for UCLA and Alabama. And, the parents know almost nothing about the game.

Jul 9, 2010
This summer, we are doing what is likely to be our last team. It will have about 6 girls who are 2011's, who are all committed to colleges. The others will be current college players, coming back for a last summer.

With the recruiting pressure off, and none of them (ok, us coaches too) feeling like we have anything to prove to anyone, we are saying this will be just for fun. I think this will be the most fun ever in SB. I plan to do almost no coaching - just giving them all a place to play. My DD and I have promised each other that we will spend more time laughing this summer than we ever have at SB. Unlike the last few summers, where we were trying to get them all signed, and dealing with the pressure of that, I think this will be the most fun ever and the best place to be.