So apparently I’m a pitching coach

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 6, 2015
You are better than me. I have been coaching my DS's 7U coach pitch team and after almost 2 months I still cannot get most of the kids to not turn their glove over when trying catch a ball thrown at them..they catch it in the gut more than the glove.
Atand 6 to 8 feet away, have them hold glove in hand waving position in to glove side glove gingers pointing up shoulder high.. toss ball directly into pocket, quick enough they cannot turn glove over.. repeat ad nauseum to develop confidence in their glove. As them get hang of it. Move to different glove positions, but still 6 to 8 feet, quick toss right into web. Let them become confident in their gloves ability to accept and close on ball

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Jun 26, 2019
Its good to hear that she is learning right. It makes me think of the situation i am in: I am coaching a 10u team and we do not have a single player that has ever played a single game of softball, let alone pitchers. We have 2 weeks of practice before our first game. This could (will) get ugly at times

Last edited:
May 6, 2015
Consider having them start with slingshot more strikes probably at least. Is there walks or fo coaches pitch after 4 balls

Mar 28, 2014
Atand 6 to 8 feet away, have them hold glove in hand waving position in to glove side glove gingers pointing up shoulder high.. toss ball directly into pocket, quick enough they cannot turn glove over.. repeat ad nauseum to develop confidence in their glove. As them get hang of it. Move to different glove positions, but still 6 to 8 feet, quick toss right into web. Let them become confident in their gloves ability to accept and close on ball