Pre-Game Routines

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 3, 2010
Pac NW
I'm a first time manager for 13/14 Jr.s and would like some help on pre-game routines. I'm planning to have the team arrive about an hour early to get situated and run through warm up. Our warm up lasts about 10-15 minutes and starts with easy short lines of jogging, grapevines, skipping, hi knees, etc, following by some dynamic movement in a circle. What should I do next and how should I warm up pitchers. I have 9-11 girls depending on the day.

Thanks,
Ken

Jul 16, 2008
Oregon
I have the team arrive 1hr 15 min before start time. That gives the girls 15 minutes to get their cleats on, talk, ect, this is a 14U team. Our standard routine is; Dynamic stretching, warm up throwing, then we go into 3 hitting stations, I mix it up depending on what we need work on (bunting, side toss into a net, front toss using golf whiffle balls, tee work, front toss using regular whiffle balls, front toss with foam balls, ect). I have the starting pitcher and whoever I think will be a good reliever and catchers go first, when they are done they start warming up.

Dec 12, 2009
CT
I have the team arrive 1hr 15 min before start time. That gives the girls 15 minutes to get their cleats on, talk, ect, this is a 14U team. Our standard routine is; Dynamic stretching, warm up throwing, then we go into 3 hitting stations, I mix it up depending on what we need work on (bunting, side toss into a net, front toss using golf whiffle balls, tee work, front toss using regular whiffle balls, front toss with foam balls, ect). I have the starting pitcher and whoever I think will be a good reliever and catchers go first, when they are done they start warming up.