Offensive Signlas for 16U

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 17, 2010
I am new to coaching travel ball, but have coached HS (totally different world). I am trying to develop offensive signs for the team, but I'm not sure how many signs to cover and what method would be best for this age group.

Any suggestions?

Oct 18, 2009
Birmingham, Alabama
I use an indicator plus sign system in this age group. The number of signs you have really driven by your offensive philosophy and the ability/time to teach your team the skills necessary to implement.

I was just working on my list of signs for this year, and have about 10-12 -- take, steal, bunt, show bunt, fake bunt, slug, bunt/slug/bunt, something we call obvious bunt, squeeze bunt, hit and run, angle down (also called ground ball go by some), hit away/slap for my slapper. I also have a separate sign I can give late for a steal of third.

It's a challenge, especially at the first part of the year, to teach them all new signs and have them forget their school ball signs. I've started introducing just the most importnat ones -- such as bunt --- during practice. I'm also set aside some time evey practice -- just a few minutes-- to review them and I usually give the players a play call, and ask them to give me the sign back. You also have some time between tourney games to review them.