More in the tank

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 24, 2012
My 12U DGD is a good hitter. .355 so far this year on a good TB team. She has always batted in the 3 or 4 position on teams she's played on. She has good power hits a lot of doubles and triples (would be home runs if she had any wheels). She is self taught with a little help from me. I believe she can increase her power and her BA at the level she plays by quite a bit with some professional coaching. However I hear a lot of "coaches" say "if the kid is hitting, leave her alone".
What is the opinion of the board?

Jun 27, 2011
North Carolina
Would your daughter want a hitting coach? Would she practice what she's being taught?

If she were motivated, and you can find a good hitting coach, then I think she would improve. It's rare to see a 12U swing that couldn't use a bit of work. But your daughter would have to work at it, and finding a good coach isn't always easy.

Would your daughter want a hitting coach? Would she practice what she's being taught?

If she were motivated, and you can find a good hitting coach, then I think she would improve. It's rare to see a 12U swing that couldn't use a bit of work. But your daughter would have to work at it, and finding a good coach isn't always easy.
Agree with everything CB says here.

I'd also add that in almost 100% of the non-instructed cases I've seen and/or taken on, the rotational mechanics of girls this age are almost always lacking. They simply don't use their lower bodies as well as they could. Working on that alone with an accomplished pro could see nice development in a relatively short period of time.

Jul 2, 2013