I really hate and love this sport

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 22, 2015
Illinois
Some great advice here!

I am about to be in a similar situation with my DD. She is in her first year of 12U, and I am an assistant coach for her team this year. She has played select or travel ball for three years now, and has never had a winning season. There are about 5 girls on the team that it really bothers to lose (her being one of them), and the other girls are just happy to be there playing....which is totally fine. There is a glaring difference when they are all on the field though. My DD wants to step it up next year, and be on a team where everybody wants to compete. She even decided not to try out for select soccer ( which she loves) so that she can focus more on hitting lessons and cage time next spring. We have about 5 weeks left in our season, but I can't help but start to think about what we should do for next season.

Nov 10, 2013
Really appreciate all the thoughts. I haven't been anything more than a lurker for about 2 years on here, but have always found great advice and varying opinions, which are great for discussion. It's tough. I truly care about all the kids involved. But, it's also my job to care about my DD more when the season ends. Thanks to all.

Jul 6, 2013