Hats/Visors in Bad Weather

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
Caught some of the Noah's Ark Invitational played Friday night in Athens, GA against Florida.

I'm not a fan of playing in any type of precipitation, let alone a steady rain, but they did at UGA.

However, it reminded me of something I have never figured out. IF you are going to put players in the field during a rain, why would you not have them wear a hat or visor to protect their eyes and improve their ability to see the ball?

Hell, if I'm a coach, I may very well insist upon it. The last thing I'm going to want to hear from a player is that they missed or got hit by the ball because the rain in their eyes affected their vision.

Feb 19, 2012
West US
I was surprised by the same thing as I watched it with my DD. Not sure why FP has gone away from it but even in sun visors are beneficial.

Jul 26, 2010
DD played in a pretty heavy rain two weeks ago. There were junior colleges playing at the same tournament. It wasn't lightning so they won't call the games off, even though the field did reach iffy conditions.

I'm not sure how much hats or visors help. The human face is designed with a brow for the purpose of keeping rain out of the eyes, it's worked pretty well for a few million years. I did see more then a few girls completing catches of fly balls and then blinking and wincing afterwords from the sting their eyes took from looking up at the sky. I'm not sure how a visor would help to that effect. It was good to see the wincing and eye rubbing AFTER the catches. I did not observe more errors then usual, with the exception of a "backwards pitch" that flew out of the P's hand towards center field.