Bizarre Coaching Situation - Could use some advice

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 3, 2011
I am the Head Coach of a 10U team. The girls all have different experience levels -- from four years to none. The league I coach in has a position of Team Manager that must be female. This is my first year with this league and was under the impression that the Manager was a team mom, responsible for safety, communication, etc. In our pre-season meeting she told the coaches (both first time in this league) that she would leave softball to us and support our decisions. The league is "non-competitive" until the end of season tournament, score is kept, but not standings.

We have had seven games (2-3-2), one scrimmage, three sessions in a batting cage, and four practices on a field, which have been 75-90 minutes long.

After the last game she informed that she isn't happy with the girls' progress, defensively, and she would be taking over batting order, practice plans, and defensive assignments. She will also be finding someone to mentor me as a coach.

Her main gripes are:

• Some players are batting more than others, so she wants to use the same batting order all season.
  • I am "pigeonholing players" by not letting them play every position.
  • They don't know where to throw the ball when it comes to them.
  • I had the girls play "pepper" 3/4 swing with whiffle balls before the last game. (I was the only coach on the field, so couldn't do our typical warm up.)
  • I don't "coach enough" during games.

My counter arguments are:

• The teams we play maximize their batting order and we have players who are scared of getting hit.