Ball Rollback?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 15, 2008
Cape Cod Mass.
I don't know how many golfers there are on the site but for those who aren't there is a rule change coming which will rollback the distance the golf ball will be legally allowed to travel. The distances that players can hit the ball, mostly pro and low handicappers, especially with the driver, is out of control and making a lot golf courses obsolete. Initially they were thinking of having two standards (Pro and Amateur) but have decided on just one. I would like to see softball do something similar. As a pitching coach I am always worried about my girls getting drilled by a comebacker. They have let the bats get too hot and dialing back the ball would correct that and make the game safer.

Aug 1, 2019
MN
I don't know how many golfers there are on the site but for those who aren't there is a rule change coming which will rollback the distance the golf ball will be legally allowed to travel. The distances that players can hit the ball, mostly pro and low handicappers, especially with the driver, is out of control and making a lot golf courses obsolete. Initially they were thinking of having two standards (Pro and Amateur) but have decided on just one. I would like to see softball do something similar. As a pitching coach I am always worried about my girls getting drilled by a comebacker. They have let the bats get too hot and dialing back the ball would correct that and make the game safer.
They are restricting the golf balls to make this happen? The only way it will affect my game is reducing the number of trees I ricochet off of.
Taking a little pop out of something would be fine with me. I wouldn't care if it's bats or balls or both. Softball action in front of the fence is like watching good offenses and defenses go at it in football. Home runs are like watching field goals (sorry, kickers).

May 13, 2023