BAD Pitching Drills???

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 17, 2017
So, we have Pitchers Workouts with out Travel team and they do a lot of "9 Ball" type rapid drills.

I'm no expert but, from what I saw, I think that drill is a mess and ruins Form.

With 12-13 year old girls still approaching the intermediate stage of learning pitching and their bodies I believe I saw a lot of BAD mechanics, girls hitting their side and losing form and gaining IMO very little pitching wise.

Of course I'm going to hear the Ole "Oh we been doing 9 Ball for 30 years" stuff - I'd hope and think we're past that and there are so many better drills

It's also my belief that Working on Pitching should be separated from your Physical drills to some extent.

Thoughts?

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
One prood parent moment was DD really really wanted to make Team. This is her story not mine, I was not there.

All the Ps are on their knees warming up, DD is the only one that was on her feet. Her friend told her to follow the flow, coaches bless their hearts didn't care.

DD used weighted balls a couple times. If PC asked her to use them fine. They were DD''S PC because we trusted them. Some random coach, no way. She will not touch them.

Oct 4, 2018
I questioned wrist-flips and T's from early on. It seemed to me not really good form or good way to warm up.

I like for any drills to have a purpose. Every now and then our pitching coach does some quick-succession stuff (rapid fire) but it's never about location, just about engaging muscles and feeling certain movements.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
So, we have Pitchers Workouts with out Travel team and they do a lot of "9 Ball" type rapid drills.

I'm no expert but, from what I saw, I think that drill is a mess and ruins Form.