Who Hates Tryouts More - Coaches or Parents?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 22, 2009
PA
Ugh. I hate this time of year. I hated it as a parent because taking DD to various tryouts was always nerve-wracking, but in the end, I always knew she would have a place to play. Now as a non-parent coach, I think I really hate tryouts more than when DD played. Lots of really good kids - I'm not just talking about skills. There are some kids you know aren't as talented, but know will work hard and get much better, and really want to play for your team, but won't be a big help to the team this year. How do you say no to these players?!

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
It is all about my DD so it is obviously being a parent, no. Being a coach evaluating players and turning them away is the worst, I hate tryouts. Good news is, DD included, I know they will all have a place to play. Except for school ball which as a parent I feel for all the players that do not make the Team.

I vote for coach!

May 17, 2012
Large tryouts where you herd kids from station to station are worthless from a coaches perspective. It's done this way because it's the most efficient way to get a large number of kids evaluated. I know some teams charge money to keep the numbers down but that never sat well with me.

When they got older I just started inviting kids to practice with our team and that worked out much better for the coaches and the players.

Just my observations.

Jul 27, 2015
I think it depends on how well the coach knows the girls, but I have done both and being the coach is not fun.