TB Letter of expectations??

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 10, 2010
Does anyone have a basic letter of expectaions from families and player at an A travel ball level. I am a 12/U travel ball coach who started my own team of first year 12's this year. We are doing well for our age and skill level, but I have a few players who just don't belong out there. This opinion is based on skill, effort, attendance etc. I would like to put forth some expectations for next year that may make these families reconsider trying to put thier daughter on an A travel team. When I started this team, I commited to take these 11 kids for 2 years thus guaranteeing them a place to play for the 2 years at 12/U. I have 3 that are hurting the other 8 right now. They don't practice, they are more commited to thier other sports and activities and they just don't take this team seriously. Of course alot of the blame can be put on the parents, but overall they don't fit in the mix.

I used one as a sub in this weeks tournament. After the 3rd inning she walked up to me and said "I have to go now". Parents took her off my bench. This is the least involved family, the one that practices the least, does not participate in our fundraising efforts etc.

I made a commitment to NOT cut anyone for 2 years, but this is bad for the other kids/families on this team who understand we are trying to prepare these kids for high school.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dec 5, 2012
Mid West