Suspended from next entire tournament for discipline. Too much?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 17, 2011
I am an assistant coach on our 12U team. One of the very top girls on the team an 11 yo, made accusations towards a girl (12yo) who missed an easy catch and made a few other errors. In the dugout during the game, she told this girl SHE was the reason we were loosing the game. The older girl then started crying. It got out to the head coach that this happened. After the game the girls were in their post game circle for the coaches summary. And just after this, the head coach with a very stern and loud voice called the girl by name and the parents by name for a private talk, ten feet away from the other girls. I don't have any problem with the girl getting discipline on this. However, how much discipline is needed, and is public humility to be included in the discipline? This girl also told me that the kids at school were all talking about her not being able to play in the next weekends tournament. One of the 2 coaches must have told their daughters, because I didn't. I agree there should be discipline but:
At what point is public humility OK? Or should this have been kept completely confidential? And, an entire tournament?
I'm the team statistician/assistant coach and the head coach is a good friend. But the kids come to me when they are having issues. This one didn't come my way.

May 24, 2013
So Cal
I'm not sure what the right discipline call is in this situation, but somewhere the lesson of "win as a team, lose as a team" needs to be included. Everyone makes mistakes. Sometimes it affects the outcome of the game, sometimes it doesn't. Based on your description, the 11yo girl needs to learn a couple of lessons.

Mar 28, 2013