pitching "style" cocked wrist???

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 29, 2013
So I'm a new coach of a 10u team and today I had a girl that said she's been going to a pitching coach and wanted to tryout at pitcher.She started pitching and she had her wrist basically cocked back as far as she can when the ball is in her glove and as she is coming out starting her pitch like this.Like I said before I'm a new coach but I have spent alot of time researching all positions,but I have never seen this style of pitching.My question is is this a respected technique to teach.She also said her coach teaches speed first then accuracy but she is much bigger than my daughter and doesn't pitch much faster.Thanks in advance

halskinner

Banned
May 7, 2008
When I pitched and what I taught students was bring thge ball out of the glove with the wrist cocked slightly forward, not back. The wrist cocks back as you go through the downswing in back. Release in front of the hip and fire away while uncocking the wrist at release.

Other instructors may teach other things.

Never heard of cocking the wrist back right out of the glove.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
As you have probably figured out, a cocked wrist is not going to do anything to give you any speed. That said, it is not all that unusual for a coach to teach speed first. I teach the fundamentals of good mechanics and I never mention speed to them, until they have mastered their control.

But, she has a pitching coach and there is little you can do, unless you are asked.

Feb 3, 2010
Pac NW
As long as it doesn't stay cocked, I don't think I'd worry.

I'm a form, then accuracy kinda guy. Speed is a natural byproduct of good form, so like Amy said, it's not worth mention. It just happens.

Jun 18, 2010
rylesdad, review this recent post from BM (full post here):

Lets get the terms straight so we're on the same page........