Pitching rubber

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 27, 2011
All how is the pitching rubber supposed to be used? Do you recommend always setting up in the same place on the rubber or changing it depending on the pitch location or type? My DD's PC always has her set up on the very right of the mound. I'm still learning so just want to ask the board thoughts or suggestions?

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
Do you recommend always setting up in the same place on the rubber or changing it depending on the pitch location or type?

No. Absolutely not. At higher levels of play, if the pitcher does anything to indicate she is throwing a particular pitch or to a particular location, she will murdered.

My DD's PC always has her set up on the very right of the mound.

I imagine he is going to teach her a curve. At lower levels of play, it might be more effective to stand on the right side of the rubber. At higher levels of play, nothing matters except how good is her control, how much she makes the ball break, how fast she throws the ball, and how well she changes speed.

She'll find the best place to stand for her personal style after a couple of years.

Last edited:
Nov 26, 2010
Michigan
Be careful when learning not to use foot placement on the mound to compensate for issues with mechanics, although most righty pitchers prefer the left side, both for the fact your arm is not at the center of your body and to hide flaws. One spot in the end.

Lastly, I have pitchers starting to get called for stepping out of the lane, or lining up in a way (too close to the edge) that the ump feels the need to come out and move them as a preventative measure. Better to work with it before that time and age!