How do handle if you have issues with parents??

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 23, 2012
Would like to hear some suggestions on what others have done in the past with parents that can be negative at times.

Here is my situtation: I'm a asst coach for a team and the head coach has an issue with one of the girls parents ( from what the head coach told me another parent told him that her parents had a issue on how he coaches paractices that the girls do to much standing around)
This girl is by far our best catcher and has a big bat, but instead of the head coach addressing the problem with the parents he sits her on the bench and only lets her catch the tough games until we get out ahead, he continues to have her in the starting line up to hit also. I can see her parents continue to get more aggravated as this continues. I told him I would talk with the parents and workout the issues but he hasn't. I fill for this girl because she doesn't understand what she done wrong and has asked the coach why she is getting as much playing time and his answer to her is "Im just seeing which catcher wants it more"

How would you handle this?

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Can you describe a practice? There may actually be too much standing around. I do know this much, a young lady should not be punished because of her parents. A coach either wants her on the team or he doesn't. If I am the parent of a #1 catcher, good teams are easy to come by.

It sounds like the head coach doesn't want to hear from you. It puts you in a difficult position.

Jan 27, 2010
NJ
As the AC do you think there is to much standing around? Do you see a cluster of girls talking for 5 minutes while other girls perform a drill? IF yes then there is to much standing around. From what you describe, it sounds like the HC is the problem adult in this scenario.