Transitioning from 10U house/rec to 10U All-Stars/TB

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 29, 2013
I couldn't decide whether to post this in this thread or start a new one, but ultimately decided to start my own. This is kind of long, but hopefully helpful to someone out there.

I'm a moderately experienced coach (2 years as HC + 3 or so as an AC), but with all of my coaching in house/rec league until I coached my younger DD's all-star team this summer. I was pretty familiar with All-star and TB through my older DD, who played both, but this was my first coaching experience with anything other than house league. (In our area, All-star teams form after rec/house spring season and play May through July in tournaments and double-headers with other all-star teams or "C" TB teams. It's basically "travel light.")

Needless to say I learned a lot this summer! Now that the season is over, I thought I'd share my list of things I learned the hard way. Probably the first thing I learned is that it would be a really good idea to AC a travel or All-Star team before becoming a HC -- but sometimes you're the one guy willing to step up and do it.

This list is by no means exhaustive - lots of stuff went right or was exactly as I expected and so I didn't capture it as a "lesson learned." Some of this is unique to 10U, some of it unique to the house->TB transition, and some of it is pretty universal. Nevertheless, there are quite a few things I wish I had done differently. Here the initial list:
1. Stress the new level of commitment over and over early on, starting with the intro letter – for many families, this is their first experience with TB and they are used to house league where “Oh, Sally can’t make any games this week!” is commonly acceptable.