starting a travel organization - need input

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

jay

Mar 29, 2010
holland, oh
hi folks. i've been coaching rec ball since 2003 and recently moved up to coaching travel ball. this fall, i'm spearheading the beginning of a new travel organization in our town. i want to solicit softball parents specifically and ask two questions:

1. what 3-5 things do you wish your travel coach was better at doing?
2. what 3-5 things does your travel coach do really well?

thanks!

jay

Apr 8, 2010
i manage/coach a tb team, so i can offer things i've been told or have heard.

things people seem to like:
1. clear and frequent communication - i like to keep the team well-informed. also talk with parents frequently to include them in their dd's development.
2. staying current - i go to clinics with my dd (sometimes i participate if they let me), i work with local JC coaches to hear/see the latest and greatest teaching methods.
3. stay organized - nothing beats a good plan.
4. this is the girls' team, so they decide on uniforms, team parties, etc. i like to kep the girls as involved as possible so they truely feel like it's THEIR team. the girls really like this.

the big thing parents say i need to work on is delegation. i tend to do most things on my own. i feel like it's getting done "right" when i do it. im sure there's more...

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
One of the biggest things is trying to figure out what type of travel team your going to be and what are your goals.

You can either be a trophy hunting team, meaning you look for the weakest tourneys to get in to bring home the plastic. Which is fine if that is your cup of tea, because it's easy to keep the players/parents happy if you win every weekend.