Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How to handle this situation..

  1. #1
    Finding my way 4 girl's dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Back on the dirt
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks
    1,893
    Thanked 685 Times in 454 Posts

    Default How to handle this situation..

    In a game this weekend, our batter had a 2-2 count. Foul ball strike, ball, ball, called strike. Ump told our batter she is out as she got back in the box. Both of our score keepers had 2-2 but BU also said it was 2-3, batter out. I went back and reviewed the game on the GoPro last night and she has a 2-2 count.

    How does a team handle this when they have the official books and both umps are wrong? We had a runner on third w 1 out and it was a 2-1 game.
    Do not argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  2. #2
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,564 Times in 925 Posts

    Default

    Video is not useable so with both umpires having the same count and if they wont go to the official book not much that can be done.

  3. #3
    JAD
    JAD is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball JAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    8,194
    Thanks
    4,776
    Thanked 7,116 Times in 3,153 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 4 girl's dad View Post
    In a game this weekend, our batter had a 2-2 count. Foul ball strike, ball, ball, called strike. Ump told our batter she is out as she got back in the box. Both of our score keepers had 2-2 but BU also said it was 2-3, batter out. I went back and reviewed the game on the GoPro last night and she has a 2-2 count.

    How does a team handle this when they have the official books and both umps are wrong? We had a runner on third w 1 out and it was a 2-1 game.
    If both umpires have the same wrong count you may be out of luck. Good umpires will ask home teams scorekeeper what for the count if they lose track and confirm it with the visiting teams scorekeeper if they have one.
    "I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times" ~Bruce Lee

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to JAD For This Useful Post:

    coach james (03-12-2018)

  5. #4
    I'm a fan 3afan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    DFW Area
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Default

    not much you can do ... move on ...

  6. #5
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,264
    Thanks
    2,821
    Thanked 2,478 Times in 1,586 Posts

    Default

    Like everyone umps get confused sometimes.

    If the other team agrees with you I found umpires will reset to what both Teams agree to.

    If they do not agree or plead ignorance move on.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to quincy For This Useful Post:

    JAD (03-12-2018)

  8. #6
    13th Step Softball Addict coach james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Mid West
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    3,010
    Thanked 2,430 Times in 1,341 Posts

    Default

    Not much you can do... The worst part of it is the batter goes down in the books as a K... When if given her correct count, she may have had an RBI hit. Oh well
    "The only difference between average and exceptional, is the attention to detail applied to the task... Don't practice mistakes." James Clark

  9. #7
    Softball Junkie CoachJD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    644
    Thanks
    501
    Thanked 451 Times in 222 Posts

    Default

    Seems strange that both had the wrong count. I'm guessing the BU wasn't keeping track at all and just deferred to what the PU had.

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CoachJD For This Useful Post:

    4 girl's dad (03-12-2018), coach james (03-12-2018)

  11. #8
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,264
    Thanks
    2,821
    Thanked 2,478 Times in 1,586 Posts

    Default

    That is usually what happens, 1 umpire is not paying attention and just agrees with other one.

    I would do the same thing.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to quincy For This Useful Post:

    coach james (03-12-2018)

  13. #9
    Finding my way 4 girl's dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Back on the dirt
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks
    1,893
    Thanked 685 Times in 454 Posts

    Default

    I knew Video didn’t matter but was pointing out that both of our score keepers were correct and both umps were wrong.

    Thanks for the feed back.
    Do not argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  14. #10
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball grcsftbll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    3,399
    Thanks
    1,995
    Thanked 1,806 Times in 1,080 Posts

    Default

    You're just screwed I think. We played a 12U tournament when we were a 10U team and ran into that. My DD got a strikeout and I had 3 strikes in iScore. Our paper book score keeper had 3 strikes. The person working the score board had 3 strikes. Unfortunately, the other team was home and they were official. Of course, they told the umpire he was right (he was not). She ended up on a full count (not really since she actually already had 3 strikes), walked the batter to load the bases, then got the next one out so we still got out of it. Annoying though. I'm sure the other team had 3 strikes as well and just took advantage.

    So that brings up a question - I'm often the score keeper for our team. If I had 3 strikes and the umpire asked me, I'd be honest. I'm not going to volunteer the info and I'll take the freebie if the other team doesn't argue. But I'm not going to lie, either. Is that normal, to just make up crap like that? It's possible they lost count too, but it seems unlikely. Just seems uncool to me to lie to get a free pitch.
    Softball Mom

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --