Sharing bats?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 16, 2015
I have a newbie question. DD is 10 and on a newly formed 10U team. Great team, great coach, great parents, no complaints. I am new to parenting a softball player, but played in college myself a hundred years ago. I know the game, but am by no means an expert on equipment or the club softball experience.

I got her a Demarini CF6 -11 last year when it started looking like she was going to be getting serious about softball. Right now she is 4'8" inches tall and pretty slight. In the past few months, she has really started hitting the ball hard, which I think is some combination of her skills improving and that bat breaking in.

Anyway, the issue is this: She's hitting so well that others on the team want to use her bat. I noticed a couple of girls using it during the game (DD had to take practice swings before her AB with someone else's bat), but then when I questioned my daughter about others using it, found out they have started to use it for batting practice as well.

I don't want to be a jerk. I know in rec, the kids are just picking up whatever bat looks good and stepping into the box, but is it reasonable to expect that on a competitive club team ($$$$), kids will have and use their own bats? Is it okay to at least restrict kids from using it for BP? Does it not matter because my daughter will outgrow this bat before it is used up anyway? Or if I limit its use, do I have a chance to pass it down to my younger DD eventually?

I really don't want to make waves, but I also don't think I need to be the team bat supplier either. Is the path of least resistance to pick up another bat for DD to use during practice and save the good one for games? Or should I be doing that anyway to extend the life of the bat?

Edited to add: Batting practice is in the cage with the hard balls.

Last edited:
Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL