If you heard this at a game, what would you do???

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 12, 2010
Oregon
Sunday fall-ball league, 16U. ASA rules, ASA certified umpires.

Equipment check prior to the game, umpires pull 2 bats for "rattles".

At the plate talk, the very visibly upset head coach says something to the affect of, "I am a nationally known head coach, you're just a local umpire. You don't know what you are doing, you can't pull those bats". The bats stayed pulled.

This was verified by numerous people, including the opposing coaches who were at the plate talk.

Interested to hear some responses, both from the parent standpoint as well as opposing coach or even an umpire's point of view.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
My response as coach of either team or as a parent would have been, "OK. Let's play ball."

This is a non-issue...perhaps the umpire made a mistake, but so?

Teams play in the rain, scorching heat, snow, and fog. The fields are sometimes swamps, with a two foot deep rut in front of the pitching rubber. Sometimes the batter's right foot is six inches below the plate. Sometimes the batters box looks like it was lined by someone who finished a fifth of gin. Sometimes umpires are 14YOA kids, while sometimes the umpires are Methuselah's older brothers.

But, so what? You play the game based upon the current circumstances as well as you can.

Last edited:
Dec 23, 2009
San Diego
Depending on the kind of mood I was in, I might have then told Mr. Nationally Recognized Coach that he could view the proceedings from the parking lot.

And I love the "This is a non-issue" that immediately goes into "perhaps the umpire made a mistake"...why not add "or perhaps the coach needs to make sure his team's equipment is legal"?

Amusing either way, I guess.

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL