I/R- Rollover drop

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 15, 2013
I am fairly new to the I/R method. I want to buy into but have some questions. Isnt it really just a rollover drop? Thats the way my daughter was taught to throw that pitch. Also, How will I/R work with other pitches? Last of all, if my daughter has good arm whip, won't that work? She is 11yo and throws 50-52mph consistently. I hate to start changing things. Your hinput is appreciated.

Nov 29, 2009
Post a video of her and the people on the board can comment and make suggestions. Be sure to try and get a front, side and back view of her.

Jul 14, 2008
I am fairly new to the I/R method. I want to buy into but have some questions. Isnt it really just a rollover drop?

Absolutely not.........In fact, with optimal mechanics and velocity, the ball will be rotating more like this from the pitchers prospective:

2daazw6.gif

This is a pure I/R fastball.........See any "roll over drop" on this pitch?

34xfdx1.gif

Or this one?

30bcodz.gif

Thats the way my daughter was taught to throw that pitch.

If your DD throws her drop like like this then you don't need to "change" anything. This is an I/R drop:

hskq2v.gif

Also, How will I/R work with other pitches? Last of all, if my daughter has good arm whip, won't that work? She is 11yo and throws 50-52mph consistently. I hate to start changing things. Your input is appreciated.

If your DD has "good arm whip" what includes the elbow leading down the back side, and the hand under the ball......Resulting in arm rotation from facing backwards to facing inwards........Then she is on the right path..........

If her hand is on top of the ball down the backside (not including change up)........And is PUSHING it down the back side.......Then you may want to further your investigation of CORRECT mechanics.........