Loading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Bunted ball hits bat in fair territory.

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day Hoover's Dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

    Default Bunted ball hits bat in fair territory.

    I have heard two different explanantions about a ball that rolls into a bat in fair territory. Intentional or un intentional. What are the correct rules?

    I saw a ball bunted yesterday that had back spin on it, when it hit the ground the ball spun backwards 3 feet and hit the batters bat that was laying in fair territory. The HPU called the batter out and made a runner go back to 2b.

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,768
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 518 Times in 345 Posts

    Default

    The batter is still responsible for the bat as long as it is moving. Once the bat is stationary, it becomes part of the field. The question that has to be answered is, did the ball hit the bat, or did the bat hit the ball? If in the umpires judgement the bat hit the ball, the batter would be called out. If in their judgement the ball hit the bat, it is nothing, live ball.

  3. #3
    I can talk softball all day Hoover's Dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    If he calls the batter out, do base runners have to go back to original base?

  4. #4
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    Certified softball maniac MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 242 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoover's Dad View Post
    If he calls the batter out, do base runners have to go back to original base?
    They return to the last base touched at the time of teh INT.

  5. #5
    I can talk softball all day Ajaywill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 98 Times in 78 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    The batter is still responsible for the bat as long as it is moving. Once the bat is stationary, it becomes part of the field. The question that has to be answered is, did the ball hit the bat, or did the bat hit the ball? If in the umpires judgement the bat hit the ball, the batter would be called out. If in their judgement the ball hit the bat, it is nothing, live ball.
    To add to this, if both the bat and the ball are moving when they contact each other, then the bat has hit the ball, interference, batter/runner is out.

  6. #6
    Checking out the clubhouse shagpal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Top

    each runner returns to last base at "Time of Pitch"

    Quote Originally Posted by MTR View Post
    They return to the last base touched at the time of teh INT.

  7. #7
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    Certified softball maniac MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 242 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
    each runner returns to last base at "Time of Pitch"
    Not if I am enforcing 8.2.F.5&Effect based upon 1.Batter-runner

  8. #8
    Checking out the clubhouse shagpal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    why, irish? OP never mentioned any fielder making a play on the ball.

    Quote Originally Posted by MTR View Post
    Not if I am enforcing 8.2.F.5&Effect based upon 1.Batter-runner

  9. #9
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    Certified softball maniac MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 242 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
    why, irish? OP never mentioned any fielder making a play on the ball.
    Because it is a fair batted ball which means there is no longer a batter (rule 7), but a batter-runner (rule 8). It is a fair batted ball which means there is no longer a batter, but a BR.

    7.6.K dictates the batter hits the ball a second time. The notation involving the dropped bat is an exception noting the ball ball remains live, not when it becomes dead due to interference.

    8.2.F.5 is more inclusive. Would not a discarded bat hitting a fair batted ball be interfering with the defense's attempt to make a play on that ball? Also, if you check 8.6.C, it states that when a batter, batter-runner or runner is called out for interference, all other runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

    I will grant you the point that 7.6.K is the most often cited in such a case, but what are you going to tell the coach who wants to raise the issue that if there is a fair batted ball, by rule, there is no longer a batter?

  10. #10
    Checking out the clubhouse shagpal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    whichever, TOP or TOI, placement of runners would most likely come out to be the same.

    but whatever you smoking, I'm not buying.

    Quote Originally Posted by MTR View Post
    Because it is a fair batted ball which means there is no longer a batter (rule 7), but a batter-runner (rule 8). It is a fair batted ball which means there is no longer a batter, but a BR.

    7.6.K dictates the batter hits the ball a second time. The notation involving the dropped bat is an exception noting the ball ball remains live, not when it becomes dead due to interference.

    8.2.F.5 is more inclusive. Would not a discarded bat hitting a fair batted ball be interfering with the defense's attempt to make a play on that ball? Also, if you check 8.6.C, it states that when a batter, batter-runner or runner is called out for interference, all other runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

    I will grant you the point that 7.6.K is the most often cited in such a case, but what are you going to tell the coach who wants to raise the issue that if there is a fair batted ball, by rule, there is no longer a batter?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --