Loading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: A horrible throw hit my runner and she was called out.

  1. #1
    With Purpose and Urgency Huskerdu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default A horrible throw hit my runner and she was called out.

    It is amazing when challenged a ruling takes me by surprise. I had a runner rounding 3rd and on her way home, a horrible throw from the infield home, bounced 3/4 up the line and as my runner attempted to leap over the ball, it ended up catching her in the heel, not one defensive player was within 10' of the ball (meaning the throw wasn't really part of the play). The umpire called my girl out.

    I thought that the ball would still be live the same way if the ball hit my runner sliding into a base. The problem with this is that a defensive player could throw the ball and hit her ala' dodge ball in the back and the player would be out.

    Help me, it seemed ridiculous that she would be called out.

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,474
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 366 Times in 253 Posts

    Default

    Interference with a thrown ball must be intentional.

  3. #3
    Softball Junkie InsidePitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    879
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 97 Posts

    Default

    DD has hit several players running to 1st and stealing second. None of them were called out although the coach argued a couple in the inside of the baseline on the way to first. Not even a hint at 2nd.

  4. #4
    Checking out the clubhouse Umpireernie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Unless there is more to this than in the OP it does not sound like INT. Unlike getting hit with a batted ball, or a batter-runner getting hit with a thrown ball while outside of the 3 foot running lane the mere fact that a thrown ball makes contact with a runner is a no call. In fact I usually verbalize "That's nothing!" when a thrown ball hits a runner.

  5. #5
    With Purpose and Urgency Huskerdu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Umpireernie View Post
    Unless there is more to this than in the OP it does not sound like INT. Unlike getting hit with a batted ball, or a batter-runner getting hit with a thrown ball while outside of the 3 foot running lane the mere fact that a thrown ball makes contact with a runner is a no call. In fact I usually verbalize "That's nothing!" when a thrown ball hits a runner.
    The play was very simple, no other facts from the OP except that she was running down the line in foul territory... Your thoughts are exactly mine...I assumed it continued to be a live ball...

  6. #6
    I can talk softball all day 99&beyond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    You mean just throwing the ball at the runner will get them out? Dang we have been playing this all wrong!

    I have seen many instances where one of our girls will throw/toss the ball at the runner. I have no idea what they would have ever been thinking, but the runner was never out.

  7. #7
    Certified softball maniac Coach JV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    beyond the fences
    Posts
    1,017
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts

    Default

    Dodgeball or Softball?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Amy in AZ.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    6,960
    Thanks
    397
    Thanked 1,477 Times in 904 Posts

    Default

    I would have loved to whack some certain players with the ball, back in the day.

    By the way, Huskerdu, did you file a protest?

  9. #9
    Axe
    Axe is offline
    I can talk softball all day Axe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts

    Default

    We had the same call happen with a young umpire in a 10U Rec game where our runner was hit in the back between 2nd and 3rd and called out. We successfully protested the game and forced a replay of the last inning of the game. Protesting a Rec league game is the last thing you want to do but with such an egregious misinterpretation of the rules I didn't see much choice.

  10. #10
    With Purpose and Urgency Huskerdu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    This was a fall league game, for us it is a practice league to keep our girls sharp, to develop chemistry with new players and for new pitchers to get some innings in.

    Had this been a tournament, I would most certainly have protested.

    Thanks to everyone here for confirming what I thought I knew was correct. This forum is awesome!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --